Nyroc's ATV info website
Home | Store | Classifieds | Tech Tips | Trails | Forum
Facebook Nyroc -Join The Thousands That Love ATVís ĖUTVís  And Nyrocatv. Nyroc Twitter -Join The Thousands That Love ATVís ĖUTVís  and- NYROCATV.
Nyroc Sponsors
Facebook | Garage Products | HP CVT Clutches | Nyroc Supporting Members | Trax | VDI
Forum Index > Suzuki King Quad > Wont run over 40 mph and only idle with throttle position sensor set wrong? Sign up or Logon
deerhunt
Subject: Wont run over 40 mph and only idle with throttle position sensor set wrong?2012-05-01 23:31:57
Posts: 3
Charlotte, North Carolina , USA

I have a 06 king quad 700 all stock that wont run over 40 mph, has a miss at low rpm, only idle with throttle position sensor out of adjustment, and run it about 1/2 mile and cut it off it will seem to flood and wont crank until I take the air filter off and open the throttle to let the vapers out of the throttle body and it will crack up after that. Also I checked the fuel pressure(about 43psi)and cleaned tank and fuel filter , cleaned and ohm fuel injector, and changed throttle position sensor which did not help. I dont know what the computer or fuel injector does when one of them goes bad. Plus, the problem started on a trial ride start off running perfect and 1.5 miles later it just quit and ran only about 10 mph with it missing real bad until I started working on it.Need help
----------------
I ride a 2006 suzuki king quad 700
Dr Z
Subject: Wont run over 40 mph and only idle with throttle position sensor set wrong?2012-05-02 01:03:34

Posts: 7625
Colbert, Washington , USA




Did you try the paper clip tip to check for any codes?
----------------
2011 Can Am Outlander Xxc 800
Parting out my 06 Kingquad 750 BBK
Follow us on FaceBook-Twitter-YouTube
deerhunt
Subject: Wont run over 40 mph and only idle with throttle position sensor set wrong?2012-05-02 17:27:42
Posts: 3
Charlotte, North Carolina , USA

Yeah, it shows no codes(C00), but the TP senser shows out of adjuctment but that is the only why to get it to idle good and run with half the power of what the atv is able to do.
----------------
I ride a 2006 suzuki king quad 700
Glenlivet
Subject: Wont run over 40 mph and only idle with throttle position sensor set wrong?2012-05-02 20:25:46
Posts: 6391
Hope, British Columbia , Canada




Is there a way you can try someone elses ECU in your quad? got to wonder if yours hasn't become corrupted.
And check the voltage of the IAP sensor against the expected value. See how it runs with it (electrically) unplugged.

Borrowed from a previous thread:
"The way this sensor works is that it reads the vacuum in your intake and translates it into voltage so that your ecu knows how much fuel to inject. Put your voltmeter on your sensor and your kq into neutral and give it some gas gently up to 6000 rpm. Your voltage should increase up to 4.5 volts or down to 0.5 volt. It should change accordingly with the vacuum in your intake. If it stays at 2.6 volts, your sensor is bad. If your voltage changes, collect your voltmeter directly at the entrance of your ecu and do the same thing to see if your ecu really has a signal coming from this sensor. If you have nothing, there's a wire that is cut somewhere between. "

The code ought to read 13 if it's a bad IAP but you know how things go sometimnes...

----------------
My King Quad
I do clutch machining mods, A-arm mods
Follow us on FaceBook-Twitter-YouTube
SmoothKing700
Subject: Wont run over 40 mph and only idle with throttle position sensor set wrong?2012-05-02 21:25:08

Posts: 2775
Somewhere in, Kentucky , USA


Glenlivet, good catch on the MAP sensor. Thing is it will only reach about 3.5V, depending on barometric pressure, when revving it. Actually it wont even go that high. You can test it that way and it should idle around 2.6V when probing the sensor and the voltage should climb when revving it. You can also vacuum test the MAP sensor. With the key ON and engine off there should be around 3.5V. As you apply vacuum the voltage should drop in a linear manner. The wires to test are black and green. Probe the green wire with the red probe and the black wire with the black probe.

I would go ahead and verify the ECM is reading the TPS correct too. If you probe the yellow wire with the red probe and the black wire with the black probe you should get 1.12V when the dash reads -C00 (centered). Make sure there is a little slack in the throttle cable and the throttle is closed.

Also I would test the ECT and IAT as in the service manual.

First I would check the spark plug area for water. If wet, clean the drain vein with the plug installed, dry and if you ride in water often put some dielectric grease in the boot.

----------------
07 KQ 700, Twin Air, airbox prefilter, fuel vent to airbox, WCRP A arms, Steering stabilizer, ITP 112ís, 25x10R-12 Power Grips, VDI/M109R, LC-1&SSI4, Yoshi (THANKS evilking), movable lightened with 2mm inner/stock outer 3+, Dalton spring, stock weights, oil cooler, Ford app PURE ONE filter, Hid lights, OEM bumper w/oval lights, oval reverse light, Moose hand guards, Vinson bar end caps...
deerhunt
Subject: Wont run over 40 mph and only idle with throttle position sensor set wrong?2012-05-08 23:29:02
Posts: 3
Charlotte, North Carolina , USA

I checked the map sensor it was reading 3.3V at idle and I can unplug the map sensor thinking that it would not run w/o it, but it idles like it should and the missing stop, so I going to order a new sensor to see if that is the problem.
----------------
I ride a 2006 suzuki king quad 700
SmoothKing700
Subject: Wont run over 40 mph and only idle with throttle position sensor set wrong?2012-05-09 02:34:45

Posts: 2775
Somewhere in, Kentucky , USA


WOW it should die if you unplug the MAP sensor.

First lets test that sensor a little more.

Thoroughly inspect the vacuum hose. Check it for cracks or holes. That could cause the high idle voltage.

Do the following test with the key ON, kill switch in RUN position and engine OFF.

Use a brake bleeder vacuum pump and apply vacuum to the sensor. The voltage should drop like this.

20 inches of vacuum=1.48V
17.5 inches of vacuum=1.75V
15 inches of vacuum=2.00V
10 inches of vacuum=2.54V
9 inches of vacuum=2.63V
7 inches of vacuum=2.92V
5 inches of vacuum=3.05V
0 inches of vacuum=3.53V

Your results could vary by a few tenths depending on your barometric pressure. My pressure was 101.12kPa during these readings.

----------------
07 KQ 700, Twin Air, airbox prefilter, fuel vent to airbox, WCRP A arms, Steering stabilizer, ITP 112ís, 25x10R-12 Power Grips, VDI/M109R, LC-1&SSI4, Yoshi (THANKS evilking), movable lightened with 2mm inner/stock outer 3+, Dalton spring, stock weights, oil cooler, Ford app PURE ONE filter, Hid lights, OEM bumper w/oval lights, oval reverse light, Moose hand guards, Vinson bar end caps...
Forum Index > Suzuki King Quad > Wont run over 40 mph and only idle with throttle position sensor set wrong?
<>Be a Nyroc Supporting member.  At top of page click the Nyroc Supporting Member Link and Donate Today. Unless otherwise indicated, all materials on these pages are copyrighted by NYROCATV.COM. All rights reserved. No part of these pages, either text or image may be used for any purpose other than personal use. Therefore, reproduction, modification, storage in a retrieval system or retransmission, in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical or otherwise, for reasons other than personal use, is strictly prohibited without prior written permission.
Latest contributors: FatTireRacer